Home

Jakarta, ibukota Indonesia yang memiliki segudang aktifitas warganya. Kehidupan Jakarta tak pernah mati oleh waktu, tak pernah hilang termakan zaman, dan tak pernah redup seiring bergantinya tahun. Keanekaragaman suku, profesi, dan agama merupakan latar belakang bagi Street Banditos untuk merangkum semuanya dalam sebuah cerita, bagian demi bagian, melalui sebuah media fotografi.

Ya, fotografi jalanan atau biasa disebut dengan street photography merupakan subjek utama yang diambil dalam menceritakan jakarta melalui media fotografi. Street Banditos adalah sekumpulan orang pecinta fotografi khususnya di dalam bidang fotografi jalanan yang merekam momen-momen unik di kota Jakarta yang biasanya orang-orang tidak pernah perhatikan. Street Banditos menceritakan kota Jakarta apa adanya, sesuai dengan apa yang kami lihat dan apa yang kami alami di dalam keseharian kehidupan di kota Jakarta.

Di belakang Street Banditos (@StreetBanditos) ada 15 orang yang bekerja dari hati untuk merangkum kisah kehidupan warga kota Jakarta, berikut daftar akun Instagram mereka:

  1. @adezigh
  2. @andypriyantoko
  3. @aranboo
  4. @arryrama
  5. @bono29
  6. @crucinexio
  7. @fuchme
  8. @indranamakoe
  9. @nosegment
  10. @limheryadi
  11. @ginank11
  12. @rizataza
  13. @rrisk
  14. @ryan_djacktray
  15. @tuanmudakrisna

Apresiasi demi apresiasi berhasil diraih oleh Street Banditos yang pada umumnya datang dari mancanegara, diantaranya adalah @bw_society yang merupakan salah satu komunitas fotografi hitam putih terbesar di Instagram hingga WeAreJuxt yang merupakan komunitas mobile photography yang cukup ternama di dunia.

Berikut adalah artikel liputan tim WeAreJuxt terhadap Street Banditos yang sudah di-publish di website mereka yang diwakili oleh Anna Cox (@annacox) dari WeAreJuxt dan saya sendiri dari Street Banditos:

Shooting With The StreetBanditos

Posted by  on Sep 20, 2012 in FEATUREFeatured Articles | 1 comment

Shooting with The StreetBanditos by Anna Cox

Anna’s Introduction

I’ll be honest, I am not a huge fan of street photography *ducks* I can name the photographers I am fond of  on one hand, okay, maybe two with a couple of toes thrown in (after this interview I am going to need to borrow someones hands). Some of the time, I think people use the term “street” to hide behind poorly taken photographs.  Don’t get me wrong, I know street is hard. Trying to catch a scene on the move while paying attention to the surroundings, framing, and light takes skill. It’s like any genre of photography there are those that are good and those that are great. The photographers within theStreetBanditos capture emotion, stories, and personalities with in their shots. In my book, that makes them great.

I had the honor  to  get to spend some time chatting with Fahmi Rahman (@fuchme) from the Banditos to get the skinny on who and what  this Indonesian street team are all about.

A:  Anna  F:  Fahmi

A: Give me a basic rundown of who and what the banditos are.

F: We were a group of street photography enthusiast that have the same vision and interest about Jakarta. Our mission is to shown the reality of Jakarta, the metropolitan city in Indonesia.

Our general backgrounds were to introduce people to Jakarta’s  lifestyle, society, and community. I feel there is nothing beautiful here, Jakarta has many troubles such as traffic, floods, poverty, boredom, etc. The StreetBandito’s  offer the viewer the real face of Jakarta as a metropolitan city.

Our concern is to bring up those issues to the surface, we just try to be honest about what we see, from our perspective about Jakarta. We think of our images of Jakarta as stories told chapters by chapter.

The StreetBanditos are 15 persons and we are best friends. Here the list of Instagram IDs of people behind StreetBanditos:

  1. @adezigh
  2. @andypriyantoko
  3. @aranboo
  4. @arryrama
  5. @bono29
  6. @crucinexio
  7. @fuchme
  8. @indranamakoe
  9. @nosegment
  10. @limheryadi
  11. @ginank11
  12. @rizataza
  13. @rrisk
  14. @ryan_djacktray
  15. @tuanmudakrisna

A:What is the one thing you want people to know about Jakarta? 

F: The one thing that we want people know about Jakarta is the objects that might be missed from people vision while they walk or ride on the street, what they don’t usually see, what they don’t usually visit. We just try to serve them [the people] with the real face of Jakarta.

A: How has Jakarta changed the way you shoot?

F: Jakarta inspires us so much.. Jakarta’s conditions such it’s weather, people, community, lifestyle, traffic, etc was some  major things that we  are concerned about. Before we decided to do this project, we just knew a little about Jakarta and it circumstances, but now our perspective has changed. We actually see Jakarta for a city that had numerous problems to be solved and we have taken it upon ourselves to show that to the people or government in stark detail.

A: Why street Photography? What is it about this genre that attracts you?  (answered by different members of the banditos)

Photo Credit:  Andy Priyantoko

Street photography is capturing all aspects of human life and the environment into one frame.

Street photography is the easiest and the cheapest genre of photography. All we need is just a cellphone or camera and our eyes to observe objects/people around us. (Andy Priyantoko – @andypriyantoko)

Photo Credit: Arry Rama

Street photography is my subject of study. Not just learning photography, but learning about life. I have to observe all of my shots by looking at the reality of what see on the streets. For example, when I see an old man who is still eager to work, it makes me think there’s no reason for me to laze around, I am young!. These situations make me more sensitive about what could be happening around me and make me a better person.

Street photography has its own challenges. We have to be cautious enough and understand every moment of what we shoot. Beside that, we also have to blend and socialize with the people in the environment or surroundings. Something new and unexpected things that I felt when I was in a new place to shot objects. (Arry Rama – @arryrama)

Photo Credit:  Fahmi P. Rahman
Street photography is just the way it is, simple. Street photography makes me more observant and curious about everything that happens on the streets. It gives me adifferent view and perspective about my surroundings, about people, and the environment. I like to interpreting objects and moments in a different way. Street photography is fun and I am addicted to it.

For me, street photography is about moment. Seeing an object in an extraordinary way, think out of the box. Street photography raise my imagination, it felt like street photography bring me to a new world, I could see so many dynamics things happened around. Moments that I saw on the street were so precious for me, because it might be happened only one time on a lifetime. (Fahmi P. Rahman – @fuchme)

Photo Credit: Riza Murtaza

I wouldn’t say there had to be a human presence in street photography, it’s solely down to every day life, whether it be something that has been left in the street or a dog walking around… Anything.

Street photography obviously really find my soul since I believe that the road is life itself, the place runs and occurs almost all the time, where everyone is equal and also because it makes me pay more attention to and discover more about my surroundings. Personally, I do street photography because it’s a fun challenge to find interesting photos. Street photography is an excellent thing to do on trips to places that are new to me. It really helps you see things you might not otherwise notice. It’s exciting for me to freeze a moment forever that will never happen again, perhaps. (Riza Murtaza – @rizataza)

Photo Credit:  Krisna Murti

Street photography for me is about honesty and every moment is shown as it is, without staging or preparation. Also, converting ordinary moments into extra ordinary photos.

Street photography is something that I can practice everyday. And, ever since I was exposed to street photography, I have become more observant and notice things that I normally wouldn’t. (Krisna Murti – @tuanmudakrisna)

HUGE thank you to all the Banditos over in Jakarta. I so enjoyed my peek into your lives. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll admit street is growing on me:)Be sure to check out their second project capturing images from Eid Mubarak. It is available and free to download on their website. – Anna

You can find banditos here.
Twitter/Instagram: @StreetBanditos
sumber: http://wearejuxt.com/streetbanditos
Selain yang disebutkan diatas, Street Banditos (sampai artikel ini ditulis) telah mengeluarkan dua buah e-magazine (majalah elektronik) yang berjudul “Dear Jakarta” dan “Eid Mubarak” yang bisa di-download secara gratis disini.
Semoga dengan adanya project fotografi dari kami ini, kota Jakarta tercinta ini bisa makin dikenal oleh masyarakat luas di dunia dan juga dapat membuka mata kita tentang apa yang terjadi di sekeliling kita di kota Jakarta.
7 thoughts on “Jakarta dan Street Banditos

Leave a Reply

